April 12, 2024

INDIA: In an eagerly awaited announcement, the Board of Management for Cricket in India (BCCI) unveiled the 15-member squad that may characterize the nation within the upcoming ODI World Cup 2023. 

Led by Captain Rohit Sharma and Vice Captain Hardik Pandya, the Indian squad boasts a formidable lineup of each skilled stalwarts and promising younger abilities.

– Commercial –

The announcement was made throughout a press convention held in New Delhi, the place the skipper, Rohit Sharma, and BCCI’s Chief Selector, Ajit Agarkar, shared insights into the choice course of and the staff’s technique for the match.

Rohit Sharma, who has been in wonderful kind as a frontrunner and batsman, will carry the burden of captaincy on his shoulders. Virat Kohli, the previous captain, is ready to be a significant presence within the batting lineup, together with the likes of Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, and KL Rahul.

– Commercial –

One of many key highlights of the squad is the return of KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer, who’ve recuperated from accidents and are able to make their mark on the world stage as soon as once more. Their inclusion brings depth and stability to the center order.

The squad additionally contains the explosive batting of Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav, who’ve proven their prowess in limited-overs cricket. Hardik Pandya, as vice captain, brings all-round expertise to the staff, including depth to each batting and bowling.

– Commercial –

The tempo division shall be spearheaded by Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, and Mohammed Siraj. Their means to swing the ball and bowl persistently at excessive speeds makes them a formidable trio.

Within the spin division, the staff has opted for selection by deciding on three left-arm spinners: Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Kuldeep Yadav. Whereas the squad announcement was met with nice pleasure, it additionally got here with some notable exclusions. 

Sanju Samson, who had been within the dialogue for a middle-order slot, and the promising younger expertise Tilak Varma didn’t discover a place within the last 15. Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar, and Yuzvendra Chahl additionally couldn’t make it to the ultimate 15.

The cricketing world shall be carefully watching as India embarks on its journey to convey dwelling the ODI World Cup as soon as once more. The expectations are excessive, however with this star-studded squad, the hopes of a billion cricket-loving followers stay even larger.


1. Rohit Sharma (Captain)

2. Shubman Gill

3. Virat Kohli

4. Shreyas Iyer

5. Ishan Kishan

6. KL Rahul

7. Hardik Pandya (Vice-Captain)

8. Suryakumar Yadav

9. Ravindra Jadeja

10. Axar Patel

11. Shardul Thakur

12. Jasprit Bumrah

13. Mohammad Shami

14. Mohammed Siraj

15. Kuldeep Yadav

Additionally Learn: India Cruises to Victory over Nepal in Asia Cup 2023

  • Mechanical engineering graduate, writes about science, expertise and sports activities, educating physics and arithmetic, additionally performed cricket professionally and enthusiastic about bodybuilding.

    View all posts